MRI Technician Certification

Magnetic Resonance Imaging certification programs are an amazing alternative for those who hold an associate degree or are thinking about a change in their current medical career. MRI Technician certification is must to become a legit technician so that you become eligible for work in hospitals/clinical/laboratory settings. For getting registered in your field, you will need to graduate from an accredited training program and pass a certification exam.

All technicians need to obtain one of the following certifications

  • ARRT Certification
  • ARMRIT Certification

Magnetic Resonance Imaging Technician certificate programs are offered through community colleges and universities and some hospitals too. Degrees are offered at the certificate, diploma and graduate levels. The coursework includes intensive training in different areas such as how to operate the scanner, MRI procedures, patient care, anatomy, imaging laws, ethics and musculoskeletal physiology.

ARRT Certification

The credential options offered by the ARRT follow two pathways

Primary Pathway

The primary pathway can be described as the path chosen by the majority of people to earn their first ARRT credential. This can be chosen through the following courses :

  1. Magnetic Resonance Imaging
  2. Nuclear Medicine Technology
  3. Sonography
  4.  Radiography
  5. Radiation Therapy

Post Primary Pathway 

The post-primary pathway is for those individuals who are currently certified and registered with ARRT and along with that, want to pursue an additional credential. The post-primary pathway may also be used by those who hold a credential from ARDMS or NMTCB. This can be chosen through the following courses :

  1. Mammography
  2. Cardiac Interventional Radiography
  3. Quality Management
  4. Bone Densitometry
  5. Computed Tomography Magnetic Resonance Imaging
  6. Cardiovascular Interventional
  7. Radiography
  8. Sonography
  9. Vascular Interventional Radiography
  10. Breast Sonography
  11. Vascular Sonography

After writing the multiple choice exam (which is a four-hour exam – so be prepared), the ARRT will review the scores of the examinees and send a mail regarding the clearing of the exam. If and when you pass the exam you are certified to be an MRI Technician after which you can apply for jobs.

However, even after graduation or obtaining your certificate, to officially become a Magnetic Resonance Imaging Technician, some states require a special license before you are allowed to practice. To get licensed, you will have to pass the national ARRT exam or a state exam, and only then can you work as an MRI Technician. Visit the official website to know more about ARRT Certification.

ARMRIT Certification

The ARMRIT certification offers students an alternative way for becoming certified MRI technicians. The ARMRIT exam is only for those who are focused on MRI technology. With this general qualification, the MRI technicians can work in the outpatient imaging center market, rather than in hospital settings.

What if you fail in your certification exam?

In case you fail, do not be disheartened – failures are a part and parcel of life. So the next step would be that a re-application form will be sent with your score. For the exam, there is a $175 re-application fee. You are allowed to take the exam three times within a three year period. In a scenario, if you do not pass the exam within this time frame, you will have to undergo training again. Visit the official website to know more about ARMRIT Certification.